Xbox One/Assassin’s Creed Unity Review

Sorry for the delay since my last post, it was a busy holiday season. One thing that I wanted for Christmas was the Xbox One and I ended up getting it from my parents. I have been playing it ever since and the graphics are fantastic. Unlike the Xbox 360, this system utilizes an HDM1 cable that plugs into your television to ensure high definition for games as well as movies. If you have an older television, this system may not operate properly in terms of graphics so it may be time to upgrade. I personally use a 16” LCD, which was only about $200 when I bought it and despite the size it has great picture quality. Another thing that I really liked about Xbox One is that you can pause a game, minimize it and do other things on the apps that you have downloaded. Then you can return to your game seamlessly without having to load it back up. One thing that disappointed me was that the webcam/Kinect did not come with my Xbox package. That means that I cannot use the voice control features that were advertised until I buy the Kinect separately. Overall, the Xbox One is a good investment but some aspects of this system does take some getting used to so be patient with it.

The first game that I played on Xbox One was Assassin’s Creed Unity. The plot is set during the French Revolution in Paris, France. The main character that you are in control of is Arno, whose father was killed by a templar in the opening scene. Then 20 years later, Arno breaks into a palace party to reunite with his old friend/crush, Elise. They sneak away to a room to talk and kiss but when he has to escape the palace grounds, he runs into the middle of an assassination on Elise’s father. Arno, now suspected as the killer is arrested and stashed in prison. However, events of the Revolution provided an escape and an unlikely ally in prison helps him get out and introduced him to the assassins. This set the scene for the rest of the game.

The graphics in this game were jaw dropping with all the detailed landmarks. Notre Dame and the Bastille were the most notable. The missions in this game were interesting but the story, overall, I feel was lacking. I found that the group of villains were too predictable and easy to kill. Also there was barely a back-story for some of these villains making me wonder why I was even killing them. This game reminded me of Assassin’s Creed II, which is a good thing and a bad thing. It’s good because it was familiar to me and the missions were simple. It’s bad because I would think that they could accomplish more especially on a next generation system. Also recent Assassin Creed games have introduced new things like hunting and naval battles, which was quite fun. I feel like the creators went back to basics, which was fine but it could have been better executed. With that being said they did a great job incorporating online co-op missions within the single player world. Therefore, this game has much replay value. I give Assassin’s Creed Unity a 6.5/10 and it is a decent buy.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

