Imprisoned Within Paradise

This is a poem/song I wrote a few years ago. I was really bored one day and decided to put  my feelings into words. As a disabled individual I do get really lonely sometimes and I always am trying different things to remedy that problem. However, I feel like I fail in doing so all the time but I should realize that I shouldn’t worry and not try as hard and then I will be happy. If someone wants to put music to this that would be killer. Comment if you are interested in that or give me feedback on my first poem/song.

(refrain) Prison bars all around me inside paradise

I’m a prisoner of my own device

But I have the key, I have the key

 

All around me, people living their dreams

And I’m stopped in place within these bars

I can observe their achievements, while I feel mine has already slipped through the seams

 

I attempt to kick through the bars, but fail

I can’t seem to break out of this jail

 

(refrain) Prison bars all around me inside paradise

I’m a prisoner of my own device

But I have the key, I have the key

 

I keep reminding myself to use the key

But I’m afraid I don’t know how

I’m so used to being me

 

Some one save me from this prison I built around me

For I cannot do it alone

I need to stop being a drone

Please help me understand how to use this stubborn key

(refrain) Prison bars all around me inside paradise

I’m a prisoner of my own device

But I have the key, I have the key

 

(refrain) Prison bars all around me inside paradise

I’m a prisoner of my own device

But I have the key, I have the key

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Imprisoned Within Paradise

  1. Maria Cuddy-Casey says:

    wow…..this is powerful. I think many people can relate- even if the jail is not a physical one. Sometimes it is lonely even in a room of people. You are brave to share this deep message.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

