Exposing Those Who Scam the Disabled

this scheme reminds me of the magic potion salesmen of the old west.

this scheme reminds me of the magic potion salesmen of the old west.

 

The other day while I was browsing Facebook, I came across a video advertisement that claimed that there is an alternate treatment for Muscular Dystrophy. So I clicked play just to find out what it was and quickly realized that what was claimed was clearly untrue. I personally have this disorder so I know a lot about it and what this person was claiming was that if you take a certain nutrient supplement pack, it will improve your walking ability, gait and muscle strength. In the video this person stated he also had muscular dystrophy and showed in the video how after a month of taking this supplement that he started to improve walking. It was clearly obvious that there was no improvement whatsoever.

Now that I described the video, you should know that muscular dystrophy is a genetic disorder due to a lack of the dystrophin protein, which is essential in the production of normal muscle growth. Therefore a simple nutrient supplement cannot cause someone to improve or reverse the disorder’s progression of weakening muscles. There is some kind of drug that is being researched that focuses on exon skipping. In this process, researchers are trying to provide some kind of genetic bridge between exons with the dystrophin protein so that the body can generate healthy muscle normally.

After watching the video I was really angry about this false advertising. I then began to refute the claims of the video and soon enough the guy who posted the video started to argue with me. Throughout the argument he would keep telling me to view his website to get more information about what MDA was hiding about the disorder back in the 1960s. I wanted to see what that was all about but it required me to sign up in order to see anything. Therefore I never looked because I felt like it was a scam. I looked into this online and from what I heard this was very much like a pyramid scheme or a multilevel marketing scheme. While researching I found this article on nutra-smart.net written by Stuart Adams, a nutritionist, speaking of a similar scheme in which this company preyed on specific people that were ill and roped these people into paying for expensive nutritional supplement packs. According to Stuart, “for example, one man had a good friend who was close to death with uncontrollable diabetes. He was told that if he signed up and purchased a case load of their pig packs that within a few months, his friend’s diabetes would be back under control. This man and others first complaint was about the ludicrous price of these magical cure-all products, and were told that they could afford them much easier by joining the pyramid and recruiting family and friends to help spread the business. Out of desperation, many reluctantly forked over their pension money.”

I want to make clear that the problem that I had was that it was being falsely advertised that these supplements will improve the life of those with muscular dystrophy in terms of walking ability, gait and muscle strength. As I looked deeper into this issue the supplements were known as a type of naturopathic medicine. Now, if it was advertised as an additional way to bolster the health of those living with the disorder that would’ve been fine. I also know that some people may believe that these medicines can help and that is their opinion. It’s just that there is a big difference between having hope and being suckered into a scam. I wrote this to warn people of the potential dangers of paying for these expensive nutritional packs, in no way am I attacking the companies that provide such naturopathic medicines. It’s just that some of their advertising campaigns are very misleading.
To read more about similar schemes go to :   http://nutra-smart.net/al.htm

 

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

