A Disabled Perspective Of Online Dating

o-ONLINE-FRAUD-facebook

I have been using various online dating sites for over three years with little to no success. Online dating can be difficult for anybody because it is awkward and you do not really know who is actually on the other end. However, if you are disabled, online dating is even more difficult. Personally, I began by using Plentyoffish.com and Meetme.com back in 2011 and 2012. Plentyoffish was a very basic dating site and it was easy to set up a profile and search for matches. I would not check it all the time because I was not getting any returned messages. I sent out hundreds of messages but only received a handful of replies. I got numbers but it never worked out and it went all downhill after they stopped responding. Meetme.com was an interesting site only for a few weeks. At first I liked how it was like Facebook in that there was a newsfeed with random, local people. After a while, I hated it because I received no replies and people were disgusting and creepy. On these sites, I did not mention anything about my disorder and that I was in a wheelchair. However, if I got comfortable talking to someone I would reveal my situation.

I eventually got rid of both profiles because they were a complete waste of time. I had to rethink my strategy about revealing my disorder. When I joined OkCupid, I wanted to reveal my disorder in my profile. It did not really work that well despite being honest. On and off again, I would take out that part of my profile. I had mixed results but I was meeting women. It is a difficult decision, because if I mention my situation, people would judge me instantly without realizing that I have a unique personality. But if I do not mention it until the opportune moment, people would not know how to react. Some got scared right away and ignored me while others kept talking to me just because they feel bad for me. I hated when that happened because then they totally wasted my time and their time. It is annoying that some think that I get hurt easily and therefore do not want to disappoint me. However, it is worse to string me along then abruptly ignore me. I would rather people to be upfront with me.

OkCupid is the best of the free online dating sites. I have met some interesting women that I still talk to on social media. Some I have not met in person because distance and other life factors make it difficult. I did happen to go out once with a girl from this website. After that it just did not work out because we had different interests. That was fine, not every girl you meet is going to date you. At the moment I do actually mention my disorder in my profile because now I realize that the right person will accept me for who I am despite my disability. I still trust this site because it is constructed to find a good match. When you create a profile, you have to answer dozens of questions so that they can give a match percentage of how similar you are to certain women. There are also hundreds of more questions that will guarantee a more accurate match. Some questions are very personal and others just focus on basic interests. They even let you browse matches based on specific interests. I am confident that I will eventually find somebody by using this website; it will just take some patience and luck.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

