Reflections From My Chair #1

I want to add some personal reflections into my blogs talking about personal struggles and/or good things featured around my life as a disabled individual. I will post these type of blogs weekly and they should be shorter than my usual posts so it will be easy reading. Be prepared to walk in my shoes or actually to be more literal, sit in my chair!

A few things were definitely on my mind during this past week. I was visiting my dad in the hospital after his surgery to remove a tumor. It was successful and he is now recovering at home. Anyway while there at the hospital I found it odd to see a sign in one of the bathrooms that it was compliant with ADA standards. It was funny because the bathroom was a tiny room with two regular stalls. Thankfully a family member was with me and we could lock the door and I could use my urinal outside the stalls. However, that would be difficult and embarrassing for a disabled individual that was alone. I just dealt with it the few times that I used it but it was bugging me to see that sign every time.

Another thing that has been on my mind in the past few weeks is the lack of activity on my online dating profile. Recently I decided to mention my disability on my profile. Usually I kept that information out but I would eventually tell somebody after a few conversations. I wanted girls to see my personality first but this strategy did not work. After a few more conversations they ended up ignoring me or keep talking to me and wasting my time just because they feel bad for me.

Now I am more upfront and that way I can find somebody who accepts me for who I am right away. I try to be optimistic but this strategy has not paid off yet. I know exactly the type of girl that I am looking for which is somebody that is caring, old fashioned, funny and can have a blast just watching movies and sports especially at home and does not need to get drunk all the time. I recently found somebody on there that met most of these qualities but I am still waiting for a return message. It was one of the most engaging introductory messages that I have sent recently. It is just getting annoying that I haven’t at least gotten a response over the past few months. It seems it would be easier to meet someone in person but that’s difficult when I do not get out much and I am not employed.

Let me know if you liked reading my first personal reflection. I know this first one featured random topics but I hope to give these reflections more direction in the future.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in disabled and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

