Reflections From My Chair #2

Since graduating from college with a Bachelor’s degree in History in 2013, I must have sent out hundreds of resumes/cover letters. Yes, it probably might have been unwise to major in history and not double major in education. Also being disabled in this field has a few issues because many historical places have no elevators or ramps. However, being a History major has still taught me important skills that are useful for any job. I am great at research and that is vital for my writing skills to thrive. I have had internships where I researched for grants and wrote grant letters at the nonprofit, the Chapel of Four Chaplains, and at the Independence Seaport Museum, I wrote biographies on Navy personnel and even completed some promotional work. Based on my skills, my best fit would be as a social media assistant, museum researcher, college admissions assistant/counselor or non-profit worker.

I recently applied to two promising jobs. One job was admissions counselor at the college that I attended. It is perfect that it is nearby and that I attended this college so I have special knowledge of the university’s procedures and have had a positive experience. Those factors are key especially when selling people on the school and also there would be less time in training me. I am still waiting for any type of response but I’m hoping that I will hear something soon. I spoke with the Activities Director there who I knew very well and he gave me the name of the woman who reviews resumes for that job. I could call her if I do not hear anything. Honestly, this job made me somewhat nervous because I am naturally shy and if I get this job, it will be a lot of talking and will be a lot of responsibility all at once. I do not know how I will be until I’m thrown into the fire.

The second job was social media writer at another local university. This job is right in line with my experiences. It is a writing job and the content that I will create could be utilized in newsletters, on social media accounts, and promotional materials. The tasks look daunting for this job but I am confident because I have done them at previous internships and did a good job. I sent my biographies to the newsletter of the museum and at the other internship, I recreated the content and graphics of a brochure. I not only completed these tasks but enjoyed putting a fresh take on simple information and making it interesting. The only issue that might affect my eligibility for this job is my slow typing speed. My hands are contracted due to my disability and the only way for me to type is to use the on-screen keyboard. The fastest that I can type on that, however, is 15wpm. They may prefer somebody that is much faster.

I need to give a shout out to my job counselor. She is from this organization that assists disabled individuals in finding employment. I have only been with them for a number of months but they have taught me some important things. My counselor had me complete a community assessment and some mock interviews.  They guided me in knowing the right things to say during an interview. Right now, the problem is getting to an interview. Recently we revamped my resume and it looks more professional and organized so hopefully it will attract an employer. For now I am having a weekly Skype meeting with my counselor and we scout potential job leads.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in disabled and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

