TheWheelWorld91 Turns 1: My Year in Blogging

2014-emailteaser

My blog has now turned a year old! I began this blog last year after receiving various job rejection e-mails. I am still looking for employment but since I have so much free time, I’m focusing my efforts on creating unique blog content and writing an autobiography. I am afflicted with Duchene’s Muscular Dystrophy, which confines me to a wheelchair but I desire to contribute to society in any little way that I can. I believe blogging can help me in doing just that by keeping me productive and creative.

I created my title as the “WheelWorld” mainly because I knew that I would create content promoting disabled rights but also focus on current events throughout the world. I am really into politics and foreign relations and I enjoy writing my opinions on those matters. I also am a movie buff and avid videogame player so I sometimes review titles. It may seem like a hodgepodge but the whole purpose of these blog posts on the whole, is to show that I have my fingers on the pulse of the world but I also wish to effect change within society especially regarding disabled rights. It is the world as I see it from my chair.

My most successful posts that received the most views were those where I focused on disabled rights and my personal struggles of living with a disability. The best post that I wrote was, “Seeking Employment and Disabled Inequality?”(https://thewheelworld91.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/seeking-employment-and-disabled-inequality/ )  This was my very first post and it quickly received 48 views. In this article, I relayed my personal struggles in finding employment. I gave an example of how I had a great interview but did not get the job because of my slow typing speed. I came to the conclusion that the Equal Opportunity law is not perfect and needs reform. The next best post was, “Disabled Dating: More Possible Than You Think.” (https://thewheelworld91.wordpress.com/2015/02/11/disabled-dating-more-possible-than-you-think/ ) I focused on common misconceptions about the disabled and the dating world. Then I revealed personal experiences of how unlucky I have been in finding love. Also I am finding it harder to meet women especially since I am relying more on online dating sites.

My best political post was, “Rally for Nigeria.” (https://thewheelworld91.wordpress.com/2015/01/11/rally-for-nigeria/ ) This was a shorter post but I revealed my disgust at how there was a massive terrorist attack in Nigeria where many died yet it was not even mentioned in the news. It happened at the same time as the shooting in France at Charlie Hebdo, which was sad but not as horrific as the Nigerian attack. The media should have devoted equal time to each attack. All lives should matter.

These were my top posts of the year. Tell me what you think of the content that I post on my blog. Do you enjoy my disabled rights posts or do you like my political posts more? Or do you enjoy my reviews just as much?

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, disabled, review and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to TheWheelWorld91 Turns 1: My Year in Blogging

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    Happy Blogiversary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

