My Views on American Idol

007740e7-cfae-4d31-81aa-b0d9a89ca4d4_560_420

As some of you may know, American Idol is concluding its 15th and final season on Thursday April 7th. It began back in the summer of 2002 and was not supposed to be a huge success. Fox took a risk in letting this show go ahead but the talent simply seemed to boost ratings. Also America actually had a stake in the show and could vote for their favorite singers. Kelly Clarkson winning the first season set the tone for the show and made every day Americans believe that they could have the potential to be a star despite their background.

Personally I did not watch the show in the first few seasons. I was still young but once I got older, I began to appreciate music more. I really enjoyed rock music so I kept my eye on potential rockers. I appreciated other singers that had talent but I was always excited about the rockers. My favorite in the beginning was Chris Daughtry.  He had a powerful, raw voice and it blew me away. His best performance that season was when he put a rocking twist on “I Walk the Line.”

He did not win that year but he still created a band that spurned out some hits like “Home.” That just shows that even if you do not win the show, you can still be relevant if you are unique enough.

Some seasons I did not like because there were no singers that focused on the rock genre. But after Daughtry, the next best rocker was Adam Lambert in 2009. He was more of a Glam rocker but he had a knack for completely flipping songs and reaching high notes. He had so many epic performances but his best was when he sang “Mad World.” At the moment I do not like his music but it was interesting to see how he developed on the show.

In 2013, Caleb Johnson was another rocker. He had a pure classic rock voice and could reach a variety of huge notes. Classic rock was certainly in his wheelhouse and he often had a better version of an original song. His best performance was, “Sting Me.”  On another note I discovered a great band by hearing Caleb sing a version of a song called, “Pressure and Time.” The original was sung by the Rival Sons. I was surprised that I never heard of them but I quickly searched iTunes and instantly was hooked. American Idol has had a significant impact on my music interests. Many times a contestant would sing a version of a song and soon enough I was downloading the original. Also I have a collection of American Idol performances on my iTunes list. I’m not embarrassed to say that either because some American Idol contestants had an interesting version of a song that was sometimes better or as good as the original.

American Idol is not often seen in the most positive of light. People think its lame, the singers all sing pop music, and all the singers are mediocre. Yet the show has produced many artists that have managed to stay relevant especially Kelly Clarkson, Carrie Underwood, Chris Daughtry, Jennifer Hudson and most recently Phillip Phillips and Scotty McCreery. American Idol was not just some dumb show, it was a musical experience that was a revival for the music industry. It embraced uniqueness, creativity, and hard work. These qualities are what is necessary for achieving success in America and it makes sense that each Idol possesses these traits. American Idol certainly represented the American Way but it really transformed not only how we listen to music but how we feel the drive and emotions behind the music.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, current events, review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

