Reflections From My Chair #5

I just want to update my followers about this blog. Over the past few months I have been working part time at a call center. As a result my postings have decreased mostly because I was too tired to write a blog. I prefer to research a topic fully before posting anything and I had less time to do so. I did not want the quality of my posts to suffer. Anyway my job was a temporary contract so I am unemployed again. I was happy getting my first paying job. As a disabled individual, it was difficult to find a job but more specifically an employer that was willing to provide legitimate accommodations. This company was actually created to specifically hire disabled individuals so getting accommodations was a synch. I only needed my aide to assist me throughout the day and to utilize an on-screen keyboard for typing.

The company had a great mission and I was excited to start back in December. However, after a while I was really not liking the job. It was a call center focusing on a healthcare tax form and calls simply were not coming in at all. I was averaging only one call a day and most calls were fairly simple. It was sometimes annoying since I had limited information that I had to refer people to another number. Sometimes people were annoyed but I did not have the information that they needed. I was certainly confident fielding calls but waiting all day was brutal. They allowed us to use our cell phones to pass time but that was difficult for me. The problem was that when I hold my cell phone, I can’t reach the mouse quickly whenever a call goes through. So I could only use my phone intermittently or when my aide was nearby to help me. Therefore most days I was simply staring at a computer screen watching every minute tick by. Despite the lack of work I did learn and develop important customer service skills.

Now that I’m finished, I am taking a little break from the job hunt. So I do have more time to post now. However, I am very close to concluding the autobiography that I have been working on over the past two years. I am currently writing about college experiences and then about my life post-graduation. These are the last two chapters and it looks like that I will possibly have around 150 pages total. As of yet, I do not have a publisher but I will soon research publishers and figure out how to get their attention. I know that I will have to construct a query letter to do just that. From what I hear that is a long, arduous process and just like job hunting I will have to send 30 or so queries before finding a receptive publisher. So I will be very busy with that task after finishing my book. Hopefully soon I will hit the ground running, but sadly that will have to wait since I am sick with a nasty cold. Also it is my birthday today so I will have to celebrate. I’m a little crazy working on this post now but my blog seems abandoned. Sorry about the lack of posts lately, I shall return!

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, disabled, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections From My Chair #5

  1. seachy says:

    Happy birthday a fellow Taurus ♉ wheelman I wonder if this is where our stubbornness to keep going comes from….

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks man! Taurus means we are tough and not to be trifled with.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wendy Weir says:

    Happy birthday to you! Good luck on the path to publication!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

