Scammer, Scammer Everywhere!(Beware)

Recently, I have been getting bothered by the constant barrage of scammers. Every single day, my house receives 3 or 4 calls from scammers a day. The most common scam we receive is from a supposed credit card service company. They call every day and attempt to gather our credit card information. They call from a variety of locations to confuse you but my family has caught on and we hang up right away. Once in a while we receive a call from somebody claiming to be from Microsoft and tells us that our computer is in danger. They want to obviously gain access to the computer in order to hack it. We hang up instantly but people I know do not hang up in order to mess with the scammers. Some of my friends act stupid like they do not understand basic computer functions or how to turn the computer on. Other phone scams claim that you won money or a free cruise. Nothing ever comes free!

These scams are not as aggressive and typically are not threatening you. However, some people fall for it. One of the worst scams is the IRS tax fraud scheme. As you see in this video, the scammer calls stating that the IRS is suing you. They claim that you owe money and if you do not pay up right away, you will have to go to court. They use fear tactics to get quick money out of you. 

Phone scams are certainly a common annoyance but in society credit card scammers are on the rise. You have to be careful where you place your credit card because there are ways that people can scan your card’s information easily. My dad fell victim to credit card scammers the other day. My dad joined me and my friend at a restaurant for dinner. As we waited for the bill, my friend and I split up to catch a movie at the nearby theatre. My dad did not have enough cash and had to put $15 on the credit card. My family rarely uses a credit card and here the next day somebody charged over $1,000 on our card. My dad still had his card but somebody must have copied the card’s information. Thankfully we are not responsible for these payments since we claimed these purchases as fraud to the credit card company. Below in this video you can see how easy it is for somebody especially rogue employees to swipe your info. 

My dad said it best when he said, “these scammers are total geniuses and it is a sin that they do not use these skills for something good.” My dad works in retail and has seen it all yet realizes that the scammers are only getting more cunning. This world would certainly be a better place if people did not use their skills in such a negative way. However, people are so driven by money that they do not care who they screw over in these scams. You have to be aware of common scams like these but also be paranoid about the different angles that scammers use in order not to be duped. Despite how careful you are sometimes you can still fall victim to these derelicts.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, current events, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

