Reflections From My Chair #7

Over the past few months, I have sent about a dozen queries to publishers for my autobiography. The majority of these publishers did happen to respond after a while but they were simply not interested. Most of them just could not take on any new projects while others just preferred not to get involved with autobiographies. Apparently autobiographies are very difficult to market. Sending queries to publishers is the traditional way to get a book published. It is the first step but I am getting aggravated that I cannot get by this step. It is frustrating because my book is finished and I am waiting so long for a publisher to want to work with me. I’m anxious to begin the editing process and finally start manufacturing my books for sale.

I also know that many people have had success in self-publishing their books. There are various ways to do this and sometimes one needs to provide their own funds to print their books. I have heard of a self-publishing company that has a system that allows you to create your book easily. I am not sure if I would need to provide any payment for this service but it is great that this company can market my book through large retail mediums such as Amazon.

However, I am not completely satisfied with this route of publishing. I fear that my work will not be considered professional. If I self-publish my book, I will not have the guidance of a professional editor to perfect my work. I can edit well but when it is my own work, I am not as critical as I probably should be. I would certainly have others like my parents read it over but they are not professional editors either. I really do not know where to go from here. I do not want to keep wasting my time sending queries to uninterested publishers yet I do not want to self-publish a book that’s not properly edited. I am a perfectionist and I accept nothing less than perfect.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, disabled, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

