Battlefield 1 Review

As some of you may know, Battlefield 1 just came out on October 21st. I luckily made it to the mall and picked it up. Since then, I spent a considerable chunk of my weekend playing this game and boy is it fantastic. This game obviously is not the first of the series, as the title implies, but it focuses on the battles of World War I. Before diving into multiplayer matches, I played the single player missions. The campaign was divided into six separate war stories. I really enjoyed the first few stories. In one set of missions, you are part of a tank crew that is to break through the German lines. You get to capture sectors by rolling your tank through hardened defenses and it was amusing taking down multiple enemies in this indestructible machine. These tanks were not known for maneuverability but they could take a pounding. I didn’t worry about tank damage in these missions until the last one in this section. In that part, you had to face a column of tanks that were difficult to counter. Yet you can use buildings for cover and it becomes easy to complete the onslaught.

My second favorite war story focuses on a soldier who wasn’t supposed to be flying. He impersonated a pilot and moved on to training missions. While training, you get into a minor dogfight and uncover an enemy base. I was amazed at how easy it was to fly and I made quick work of those German pilots. Throughout these missions you get into tense dogfights and destroy anti-air weapons. In the last section you have to defend London from bombing raids. It was pretty simple until the Germans brought two large attack blimps. It was time consuming to bring down since the blimp had so many anti-air guns. It was a hell of a sight to see it go down in a huge ball of flames. The other war stories were decent but were more difficult. Those missions required more stealth especially in the desert. I am very bad at stealth and I ended up shooting everybody. It did remind me of the Far Cry series because you had to scout an area to tag enemies and decide how best to attack.

The multiplayer matches are amazing as well. Like most Battlefield games, there is conquest and rush. But there is something inherently different for there is a mode called Operations. There is a storyline with each operation and it features rounds that take place over two maps. You have to attack or defend a sector at time. It is essentially like rush but instead of setting bombs, you conquer the sector. If attacking and your team takes the sector, you move on to the next one. If defending and you prevent the attackers advance, the round is essentially over. But that is easier said than done for the attacker seems to have more firepower in terms of tanks and planes. This mode is really awesome and it makes the battle more interesting and rewarding.

My only complaint is the guns. I am struggling to find a gun that I like using. From single player missions, I figured out what I liked but it will take some time to unlock in multiplayer. In the Battlefield classes, such as assault, you need points called war bonds but you also need to reach a certain level in your class to unlock certain guns. It turns out the guns I like are the most points and the highest level. So I’m stuck with the default MP 18, which actually is not that bad but it is just not too accurate. On the other hand, the tanks and planes are fun to use. I prefer the heavy tanks since they are hard to destroy and many times, I have lasted almost an entire match in the tank. The planes are okay but it handles different from the planes in single player missions. I’m a terrible pilot so I avoid the air if I can. Overall this is an impressive game and I have to give it a 10/10 despite the issue with the guns. I’m usually very picky and rarely rate anything a perfect 10.

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Battlefield 1 Review

  1. captainxena says:

    Great post! Have you ever posted on other gaming sites before?

    Like

Leave a Reply

