Just Published: “My Wheels Keep Rolling”

product_thumbnail

I am so excited to say that my autobiography, “My Wheels Keep Rolling,” is now available for purchase! I have been writing since 2015 to document my life with Muscular Dystrophy. It was important for me to do this because not many understand the struggles associated with living with such a debilitating disorder. I not only wanted to shine a light on this disorder but use my stories as a guideline for others with MD to understand what it takes to persevere through life’s struggles especially school. Also I hope that my stories could help families realize that a meaningful life is still possible regardless of the diagnosis. Here is the summary that appears on the back cover of my book:

“In this autobiography, I aim to showcase the positive as well as the negative experiences during my life with my disability. Throughout my life, I have experienced many personal battles that have tested my strength and in the end I have come out accomplishing more than I ever imagined. My mission thus far, has been to be considered a normal human being. I believe that I accomplished just that through my arduous journey through school and college. This book is divided into three main periods; grade school, high school and college. Before and after these sections, I additionally recalled important moments that occurred during my early life and subsequently my life after school. Within each period of my life, I made friends, lost friends, dealt with bullies and other social complications. These situations have forced me to develop a strong resolve and has helped me remain positive despite the issues that I was facing. In recounting my school years, I reflected on various classes that I took and the challenges I encountered. This book not only recounts my challenges but also shines a light on the happy moments within each time period such as fun vacations, good times with friends and my many hobbies that have kept me going. Overall, this book is about my disabled life and my quest to live a normal life despite my disability.”

I was hoping to have a publisher to edit my work professionally and sell my book yet that did not work. I was being declined left and right but I definitely wanted my story out there. Therefore, I decided to self-publish through Lulu.com. This website allowed me to format my manuscript seamlessly and in due time I was a published author. So at this point I am on my own in terms of marketing my book. My family has certainly given me considerable sales but now I will have to reach out to my past school communities. I figure that is the best place to start in order to gain publicity for the book. Please let me know if you have any tips for me about marketing my book on my own. Also if you want to purchase my book, search, “My Wheels Keep Rolling” on Lulu.com or follow this link: http://www.lulu.com/shop/michael-mcdonnell/my-wheels-keep-rolling/paperback/product-23142774.html

About thewheelworld91

My name is Mike and I recently graduated with a Bachelor's degree in history. I am disabled and afflicted with Muscular Dystrophy so I'm in a wheelchair. I have been looking for a job for over a year with no luck. However, i have some non profit experience and interned at a museum. Other than that I've been going to events for my disorder and doing fun activities such as video games and using the internet. This blog will focus on being disabled, US and international politics/affairs and video games or whatever is on my mind.
This entry was posted in blog, disabled, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just Published: “My Wheels Keep Rolling”

  1. Wendy Weir says:

    Congratulations on your publication!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

